Almost five hundred entries were received from the South Lakes and beyond and from both primary and secondary schools.

The entries were read by officers of the Lake District Holocaust Project and sent to Catherine Edmunds for her judgment and finally to the Huberman family.  Catherine is not only a writer and poet but also the daughter of one of the child Holocaust Survivors who came to the Lake District – Jana Tanner – and has written the story of her mother’s experiences in the Second World War in her book My Hidden Mother.

Catherine thought that “the best writing was superlatively good”.  The decisions were unanimous and Shirley Huberman and her children, Maurice, Brian & Caroline also made the final placement decisions.

Secondary School Prize winners – please click on pdf entry links to read the prize winners’ entries.

First Prize – Isabel Hughes – Queen Elizabeth School, Kirby Lonsdale

First Prize Entry

Second Prize – Isabelle Walker – Ulverston Victoria High School, Ulverston

Second Prize Entry

Third Prize – John Sedgwick   – Settlebeck High School, Sedbergh

Third Prize Entry

Toby Umpleby and Isabel Hughes, Queen Elizabeth School, Kirby Lonsdale
From Left to Right : Noah Fisher, Isabelle Walker & Megan Cooper – Ulverston Victoria High School

Highly Commended

Megan Cooper – Ulverston Victoria High School

Noah Fisher – Queen Elizabeth School, Kirby Lonsdale

Olivia Linton – Furness Academy School, Barrow-in-Furness

Robbie Nicholson – Furness Academy School

Lillie Grace Roberts – Furness Academy School

Lewis Shears – Ulverston Victoria High School

Toby Umpleby – Furness Academy School


Annabel Atherton – Ulverston Victoria High School

Nina Barnes – Ulverston Victoria High School

Josie Bower – Furness Academy School

Carina Davies – Ulverston Victoria High School

Lois Davili – Ulverston Victoria High School

Fraser G – Furness Academy School

Ted Hodgson – Settlebeck High School

Helen Leckey-Thompson – Ulverston Victoria High School

Matthew Lewin – Settlebeck High School

Eleanor Maddock – Ulverston Victoria High School

Eleanor Moffett – Ulverston Victoria High School

Bridget O’Brien – Ulverston Victoria High School

Zack Pearson – Furness Academy School

Jay Riley – Furness Academy School

Harry Taplin – Ulverston Victoria High School

Emily Woodfine – Furness Academy School

Martha – Settlebeck High School

Primary School Prize Winners

First Prize – Thomas Twydell-Satterly – Milbourne Lodge School, Esher

First Prize Entry – Primary Schools

Second Prize –  Ruby Gordon – Ghyllside Primary School, Kendal

Second Prize Entry – Primary Schools

Third Prize – Pip Park – St. Cuthbert’s Catholic Primary School, Windermere

Third Prize Entry – Primary Schools

Some of the Primary School Winners

Highly Commended

Summer Dickson – Lancaster Ryelands Primary School

Connor Evans – Carden Primary School, Brighton

Louis Highcliffe – St. Cuthbert’s Catholic Primary School

Annie McElhone – St. Cuthbert’s Catholic Primary School

Luca Read – Ghyllside Primary School

Charles Tiedeman – Milbourne Lodge School

Theodore Tyler-Low – Milborne Lodge School

Franchesca – Carden Primary School

Adam – Carden Primary School